Webster Station Historic District

Bounded roughly by Keowee Street, Fourth Street, Monument Avenue, and Patterson Boulevard.

The Webster Station Historic District began when Eugene Barney purchased land near the Miami & Erie Canal in 1843. Along Third St., Barney constructed a complex of 6 Romanesque and Sullivanesque structures where he provided DC electric to his tenants.

Today’s development, now know as the Cannery, takes its name from the grocery-related business of some of the companies that took advantage of the newfangled technology of the time. Companies like Weakly and Worman , Cincinnati Grocers, William S. Scull Company, or The Canby, Ach, and Canby Company spice mills. Lowe Brothers Paint, Rike & Kellogg Parchment Paper Company and the American Cigar Co. have also occupied the buildings of The Cannery over the years.

Currently the industrial buildings of Webster Station are the center of Dayton’s new urban renaissance. They have been renovated into a unique space which houses a mix of of retail and proposed loft space. The collection of businesses already calling Webster Station home include: a modern housewares retailer, art gallery, a custom carpenter, full-service salon, weekly farmer’s market and a wine shop. And that’s just a start; there’s plenty of space for more urban pioneers to transform. Close to riverfront development and downtown Dayton, Webster Station is centrally located between the new baseball stadium and the Oregon entertainment and business District.